“Empowering, So Brave”: Trans Activists Praise Chelsea Manning, Raise Fears over Prison Conditions

Daily Queer News

Amy Goodman, Lauren McNamara, Chase Strangio | Democracy Now! | AlterNet | August 23, 2013

One day after a military judge handed down a 35-year sentence for leaking classified U.S. files to WikiLeaks, Bradley Manning announced a gender transition to female under the name Chelsea Manning. “As I transition into this next phase of my life, I want everyone to know the real me,” Manning said. “I am Chelsea Manning. I am a female. Given the way that I feel, and have felt since childhood, I want to begin hormone therapy as soon as possible. I hope that you will support me in this transition.” The announcement has raised many issues about how Manning will be treated in military prison, whether she will have access to hormone therapy and broader issues about transgender rights. We’re joined by two guests: Lauren McNamara, a transgender activist in Florida who became…

View original post 34 more words

Leave a Reply

